Gratitude, Attitude and New Beginnings

ImageOkay, so I’ve posted a picture of a coffee mug. Not just any coffee mug, you realize, but one that has special meaning. Why? Because a friend bought it for me. A friend who went on vacation with her family and took time out to think about me. And I was so touched, that it inspired this post.  

Gratitude … we all have it in us, but how often do we express it? How often do we have the time/money/resources to actually stop and pick up an item that reminds us of someone, or that would be ‘just the thing’ our friend needs?  I can tell you that I’ve personally walked past countless stores on countless occasions when I felt that a gift would be ‘great for so and so’.

The truth is, we don’t always have the opportunity to acquire gifts as a means of showing others how much they mean to us, or that they’ve been on our mind. So how else can we show gratitude? How can I show gratitude for my friend’s gift to me? (Although, this post might do the trick!) The usual ways, I suppose … Like by saying thank you for starters. But actions do speak louder than words, and we should strive every day to make sure our actions are telling the right story.

Which leads me to Attitude.  How often have you mistakenly hurt someone or failed to make a positive impression because your attitude was off? We all have bad days (admittedly some of us more than others) but it’s no excuse for being impolite or ill mannered. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to teach etiquette 101 here – what I’m trying to say is that we need to be MINDFUL of how we treat others, not only by what we say, but by what we do.

If you’ve read any of my previous posts, then you know that I’m going through a separation. Hardest fricken moment of my adult life, I can tell you! However, it’s not without wisdom and life lessons. Through therapy, my husband and I were able to reveal some truths to ourselves and to one another. And one of the reasons our marriage failed (but unfortunately not the only reason) was because of attitude and gratitude. We forgot to express gratitude to one another for the little things. We forgot to express our thanks each day for the many little details that each of us never had to worry about because our spouse had it handled.

And then there’s attitude. Anyone who has been married for any length of time knows how you begin to take one another for granted. But sometimes it’s harder to see when you’re bringing home your completely unrelated frustrations and taking them out on your partner. Be aware of how you treat others outside your marriage, and ensure that you treat your partner better … much, much better. After all, he or she is the one who’s got your back. And never, ever lay blame at your spouse’s feet for things you are not achieving. It’s not your husband/wife’s fault you’re not happy. It’s not your spouse’s fault you hate your job. And it’s definitely not your partner’s fault if you’re too afraid to pursue your life’s greatest ambition.

Argh … I fear I’ve come across as preachy and teachy and I hate when others overstep their boundaries with unsolicited advice. So I apologize. I’m just a gal who’s learned a few great lessons and I’m hoping to pass them on. I’m hoping that in this new chapter of my life, I will remember the importance of gratitude and attitude.

 

About Stella Dionne

Welcome to my blog! Thanks for stopping by. What you really need to know about me is that I LOVE to be creative. I have a degree in music and I've worked at just about every job possible ... well, PG rated ones anyway. But at the end of the day, my purest joy comes from creating: songs, stories, novels, poetry ... I'd like to think that we're all here for a purpose. I may not have figured mine out exactly as of yet, but I'm pretty sure I'm on the right track. I am closest to God (Mother Nature, the Universe - whatever that means to you) when I create. Whatever happens in your own search for higher meaning, I hope you find something that makes you just as happy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

